Programme Committee

Karen Reithmuller-Tully



Karen is passionate about rural and remote Queensland and is inspired by the inherent potential that exists in our communities.   Karen is involved in leadership at both regional and national levels and she currently serves as Deputy Chair of the South West Hospital and Health Board and is a director of Southern Queensland Landscapes. She was a founding committee member of an arts philanthropic fund known as the Red Ridge Public Fund. Previous directorships have included being Chair of the National Rural Women’s Coalition and a director with the Foundation for Australian Agricultural Women.

Karen holds a Bachelor of Education; Master of Education; Graduate Diploma of Financial Markets; Cert IV in Business (Governance); Cert IV in Training and Assessment and has completed the Australian Institute of Company Director’s Course.

James Stinson

Vice-Chair and Secretary


James has lived on the family property near Roma all of his life and in the last 20 years as a partner in the family operation.  James is passionate about rural enterprises and industries and through this passion served as a member of the Roma Saleyards Board from 1999 - 2008.   Since then he has been a part of the consultative committee.


During 2006, James became the President of the Queensland Saleyards Association.   He is a past President of the Australian Livestock Markets Association.


Local government and the progression of our rural community has been another passion for James who was elected as a councillor on the Bungil Shire Council from 1994 until March, 2008.


James has an extensive knowledge of corporate governance requirements through his involvement in local government and the positions he holds on the Roma, Queensland and Australian Saleyards Boards.


During his involvement with local government, James was heavily involved with the financial decision making processes associated with works program and tenders.   James has been a committee member involved with the Rural Financial Counselling Programme delivery for twelve years.

Joy Denton

Committee Member


Joy has resided in the Injune area for over 50 years, living both in the township and on a remote property located over two hours’ drive from the closest township.


For many years Joy has been involved in local government serving as a Councillor on the former Bungil Shire Council and served two terms as councillor for the Maranoa Regional Council. Through her involvement with local government, Joy has gained a broad knowledge of corporate governance requirements and has participated in corporate governance training.


Joy is passionate about the progressing of rural communities and being more sustainable with the ever changing climatic conditions that challenge the region.

Andrew Schmidt

Committee Member


Andrew Schmidt has lived on the Warrego River for all of his 66 years. He currently resides in Charleville. Andrew owns a property near Cunnamulla and has been improving this property for 31 years since he and his wife Kathy moved up the river from Baroona. His family has lived in the area since 1890. Andrew has always been interested in the environment and the sustainable grazing of the fragile hard Mulga country.


Passionate about rural industries, Andrew has been a member on several boards and committees including South West Natural Resource Management (SWNRM) board for 20 years; QMDC board for 3 years; Industry Representative for SWNRM for 7 years and on the Committee for Fodder Harvesting Guidelines for the Mulga Region. Andrew has attended many courses including an Australian Institute of Company Directors course and courses on production, breeding, industry development, fertility and mapping.

Avon Hamilton

Committee Member


Avon comes from a long line of primary producers. He inherited his grandfather’s partnership at the age of 16 and is the fourth generation of Hamilton’s to be born in Roma. His grandparents came to the Carnarvon Ranges in the 1920’s.


Avon lives for his family and his cattle. Avon is in partnership with his wife Carol and son Nathan running their beef cattle enterprise. They have four properties in the Taroom district running 2,500 head of cattle.  Avon has been a beef producer since leaving school.


As well as Avon’s property interests, he has been employed off-farm as a contract musterer, shed hand, driller and stock and station agent.

Scott Patterson

Committee Member

Scott Patterson photo

Scott is currently a director of Succession Plus, one of the largest specialist business and transition planning firms in Australia.


He has extensive business and professional experience, including over 20 years as a principal of a successful public accounting and financial planning firm which grew from humble beginnings into a significant regional firm. His passion is working to achieve enhanced business performance that creates a more certain future for his clients and their stakeholders. He has an outstanding track record across a diverse range of business and industry sectors of providing  strategic advice and practical solutions that position a business for either more sustainable, profitable performance or transfer of ownership through succession or acquisition.


Recognised by the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) for his deep and practical expertise, he has been regularly commissioned to deliver their finance for directors, and risk and strategy courses.


He has published many articles and presented at professional and business conferences both in Australia and New Zealand.


His desire to support and develop regional Australia has seen him focus his contribution as a business and community leader around his acknowledged expertise in business management, governance and structuring for growth.


Prior to becoming a professional accountant he grew up on and was involved in the management of family grazing properties in western and south eastern Queensland.

Qualifications: B Bus (Accounting), FCPA, GAICD, Assoc Dip Farm Management

Megan Devlin

Committee Member